Prevent iPhoto's autostart 'feature'

One of Snow Leopards less useful and more annoying features is it’s over helpfulness when plugging in devices such as the iPhone. Automatically starting iPhoto like a Jack Russell tugging at your trouser leg wanting to import your camera roll’s contents. Each time I find my self closing the application down mutter “If I wanted you I would have clicked on you GRRR!” So I decided enough was enough, and disabled the feature. Now, you would expect there to be a checkbox inside the iPhoto application. You may be surprised to know that it’s actually inside a separate application if you launch the Image Capture application (from you applications folder) with your iPhone or camera connected you should see an option in the bottom left hand corner of the app, which is similar to Windows “What to do when” app. Here you are able to select an application to launch when Mac OS X detects the connection of the device. Or do what I do, and select do nothing! Don’t worry – it wont stop iTunes from launching! Just iPhoto.

Mike Hudson

Mike Hudson is a Infrastructure Analyst living and working in Kingston Upon Hull. With extensive experience in Microsoft and Apple technologies, ranging from desktop OS’s to Server OS’s and hardware. By day working as part of an infrastructure team, and by night ridding the world of IT issues through blog posts..

%d bloggers like this: